Phone: 1-800-661-0575 or Email:

History of APCA

All Parties Core Agreement (Ended March 31, 2010)



This Core Agreement ensures long-term mutually beneficial relationships between all Parties as equals with recognized rights.  It supports the Parties’ goals of economic growth and the sustainability of the Athabasca Tribal Council’s member First Nations.  This Core Agreement increases the opportunities for all Parties to maximize the benefits of, and to manage the impacts of, responsible industrial development.



The ATC Industry Agreement group operated from 1998 to 2002.  This group’s main focus was on capacity building between the regional First Nations and the industry groups of the Athabasca Oil Sands region.  This agreement had the following objectives:

  • To work with ATC and member First Nations to develop community capacity;
  • To identify community and regional issues that pertain to industrial development and opportunities;
  • To work with ATC on the development of strategies to obtain government support for addressing outstanding First Nation issues.


In 2002 the new ATC – All Parties Core Agreement moved from Capacity Building to an Issues Management Process.  This new structure involved the ATC member First Nations, Industry groups and three levels of government (Federal, Provincial & Municipal).  To realize the vision of this Core Agreement, the Parties will work together to:

  • Develop effective strategies to resolve the identified issues related to regional industrial development that impact member First Nation communities of the Athabasca Tribal Council; and
  • Implement and monitor these strategies within the Core Agreement or through identified external processes; and
  • Enhance the capacity of issues that are barriers to the Vision of this Core Agreement; and
  • Operate this Core Agreement effectively by ensuring that the signatories and their representatives are aware of, understand and adhere to the Vision, Principles, Goals and functions of the Core Agreement.



Organizational Structure:

The Parties will maintain an organizational structure that reflects the work required to achieve the desired results.

  • Executive Group:  Ensures overall success of the Agreement.  Includes the five First Nation Chiefs, senior representatives from Industry and the three levels of Government.
  • Management Committee:  Manage the operations of the Agreement.  Comprises the Industry Relations Directors, ATC CEO and two Regional Directors (Socio-Economic & Environment); and representatives from Industry and the three levels of Government.
  • IRC Directors Group:  Provide collective advice to the Management Committee regarding regional issues that impact their First Nation communities.  Consists of 5 Directors from each of the five First Nations.
  • Agreement Staff:  Provide core functions and regional resources for the Agreement and the IRC’s.
  • Ad Hoc Committees:  Develop and implement the approved Business Plans.  Membership is determined by the Management Committee.


APCA Signatories:

  1. Syncrude Canada
  2. Enbridge Pipelines
  3. Petro Canada
  4. Suncor Energy
  5. EnCana
  6. ConocoPhillips
  7. Shell Canada
  8. Imperial Oil
  9. Devon Canada

10. Alberta Pacific Forest Industries

11. Japan Canada Oil Sands

12. Inter Pipeline Fund

13. Canadian Natural Resources

14. ATCO Group of Companies

15. MEG Energy

16. Total E&P Canada

17. Opti/Nexen Inc.

18. Federal Government

19. Provincial Government

20. Regional of Municipality

21. Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation

22. Mikisew Cree First Nation

23. Fort McKay First Nation

24. Fort McMurray #468 First Nation

25. Chipewyan Prairie First Nation


Ad Hoc Committees:

Ad hoc committees and project teams will implement the approved business plans.  Membership will be determined by the Management Committee and will be based on the work requirements of the business plans.  All signatories are expected to provide capable representatives to undertake work on these committees as required.  The following are formed APCA Ad Hoc Committees:


  • Sustainable Employment Ad Hoc Committee
  • Addictions Ad Hoc Committee
  • Indigenous Games/Youth Initiatives Ad Hoc Committee
  • Community Based Monitoring Ad Hoc Committee
  • Finance Sub-Committee:
  • Communications Committee 
  • Regional Gathering Ad Hoc Committee
  • Community Planning Ad Hoc Committee 


Core Administration Functions:

Core Administration functions include:

  • coordination of the organizational requirements, including meeting logistics, agendas, and minutes; and
  • reporting and financial management of the Core Agreement; and
  • coordination of the reporting requirements for the Core Agreement and all associated bilateral agreements; and
  • Coordination of communication between the Parties and with external stakeholders.


Decision Making:

Policy and management decisions associated with this Core Agreement will be made through the consensus of the Parties.  The Parties’ representatives must undertake the necessary consultation to reflect their sectors’ collective position and interests as a part of the decision-making process.  For the purpose of the Core Agreement, consensus decision-making means that:

  • each representative consents to a decision that best advances the Vision, Principles and Goals of the Core Agreement; and
  • decisions are made in the best interests of the group – not in the interest of one particular sector; and
  • there is a defined process for resolving disputes and achieving consensus.